If you were charged with Driving Under the Influence, or a DUI, in the state of Maryland, you are probably overwhelmed at the ramifications and consequences you could experience as a result. Like many states, Maryland’s penalties for a DUI change depending on how many DUIs you have received in the past. Does a DUI suspend your license in the state of Maryland?
What is a DUI?
An individual can be convicted of a DUI for driving or attempting to drive while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance a substantial amount or with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above .08%. Every person responds differently to substances like alcohol, so the amount of alcohol that makes someone else substantially intoxicated could be lower for you. A DUI has a higher obligation on the prosecution to show that the driver was severely impaired. A DWI conviction has a lower evidentiary burden.
The Penalties for a DUI in Maryland
While the exact penalties received might vary, the penalties are generally:
- First Offense: Up to 1 year of jail time, up to $1,000 in fines and a license suspension up to 6 months
- Second Offense: Up to 2 years of jail time, up to $2,000 in fines and a license suspension up to 9 months
- Third Offense: Up to 3 years of jail time, up to $3,000 in fines and a license suspension up to 12 months
If you have a passenger in the car under the age of 18 at the time of the offense, you can have up to $1,000 in fines and a year of jail service added on to the existing penalties. When considering the number of offenses, the court typically only considers offenses within the last five year period.
Does a DUI Suspend Your License in Maryland?
In most cases, any DUI conviction will suspend your license for a certain period of time. Depending on breath or blood test results, you could receive an automatic suspension regardless of your court outcome. A driver with a BAC of .08% will face a 180-day suspension automatically. A driver with a BAC of .15% or higher will face a 180-day suspension for the first offense and a 270-day suspension for a second or later violation. Any driver who refuses to take a test will be levied a 270-day suspension, or two years if they have a past violation.
What Can You Do?
If you have received a suspension due to implied consent or have been charged with a DUI, you need representation as soon as possible. You can contest your implied consent suspension if you file a request within 30 days of your notice of suspension, but if it’s done within ten days your license will be extended until the time if your administrative hearing.
Contact Mobley & Brown, LLP for Help After a DUI
If you are seeking assistance in Maryland after a DUI charge or conviction and unsure of how to proceed, contact Mobley and Brown, LLP today. Our experienced legal team will work with you to meet your needs. Call us now at (410) 385-0398.